Transgressive act Arlo Parks was the big winner at Wednesday night’s virtual AIM Awards, taking home the trophies for U.K. Independent Breakthrough and Best Independent Album. Also emerging triumphant were ENNY and Joan Armatrading.

Parks was honored for her #3 debut, Collapsed in Sunbeams. British rapper ENNY was also given two gongs: Best Independent Track for “Peng Black Girls” f/Amia Brave (FAMM) and One to Watch.

A Hero’s Death (Partisan) by Fontaines D.C. reigned supreme in the Best [Difficult] Second Album category, while newcomer Wesley Joseph’s self-directed clip for “Thrilla” (EEVILTWINN) was recognized as Best Independent Video.

Forever Living Originals was named Best Independent Label and Strut Records Best Small Label.

Lauv claimed his first AIM win with the PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist. Jayda G scooped up International Breakthrough.

Following the release of her 20th album, Consequences (BMG), last month, Armatrading was awarded Outstanding Contribution to Music laurels for reinventing folk, pop, soul, blues and rock over the course of her nearly five-decade career.

The Pioneer Award was bestowed upon producer Tricky; dub producer Adrian Sherwood was crowned Innovator.


  • U.K. Independent Breakthrough, in association with YouTube Music: Arlo Parks (Transgressive)
  • International Breakthrough, in association with Deezer: Jayda G (Ninja Tune)
  • Best Independent Track, in association with Facebook: ENNY, “Peng Black Girls” f/Amia Brave (FAMM)
  • Best Independent Album, in association with Spotify: Arlo Parks, Collapsed in Sunbeams (Transgressive)
  • Best [Difficult] Second Album, in association with BBC Radio 6 Music: Fontaines D.C., A Hero’s Death (Partisan)
  • Best Independent Remix in association with SoundCloud: “megapunk (Elkka Remix)” by Ela Minus (Domino)
  • One to Watch, in association with BBC Music Introducing: ENNY (FAMM)
  • Best Creative Packaging: Working Men’s Club, Working Men’s Club (RAW Edition) (Heavenly)
  • Best Independent Video, in association with Vevo: Wesley Joseph, “Thrilla” (EEVILTWINN)
  • Best Independent Label, in association with [Integral]: Forever Living Originals
  • Best Small Label, in association with Believe: Strut Records
  • PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist: Lauv
  • Best Live [Streamed] Act, in association with On Air: Ben Böhmer
  • Pioneer Award, in association with FUGA: Tricky
  • Innovator Award, in association with Amazon Music: Adrian Sherwood
  • Outstanding Contribution to Music, in association with Merlin: Joan Armatrading CBE
  • Indie Champion, in association with MCPS: Love Record Stores and Bandcamp
  • Diversity Champion: Paulette Long OBE