Capitol/UMe is celebrating the 50th anniversary of John Lennon’s influential masterpiece, John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band, with an eight-disc super deluxe box set that will come out 4/16.

Yoko Ono oversaw the production and creative direction with the same audio team behind 2018’s Imagine–The Ultimate Collection: engineer Paul Hicks and mixers/engineers Rob Stevens and Sam Gannon. The Ultimate Collection explores the album’s 1970 recording sessions at EMI Studios 2 & 3, Abbey Road and Lennon’s post-Beatles singles, “Give Peace A Chance,” “Cold Turkey” and “Instant Karma! (We All Shine On)” from inception to the final master and includes several new mixes of the album.

This collection features 159 tracks across six CDs and two Blu-ray audio discs for more than 11 hours of music. Plastic Ono Band will also be released in multiple physical and digital configurations, including as a single CD or two-CD and two-LP versions that add outtakes of each song.

The Ultimate set includes unreleased and rare demos, rehearsals, outtakes, jams and studio conversations. The Ultimate Mixes put John’s vocals front and center and sonically upgrade the sound; the Elements Mixes isolate and bring forth certain elements from the multi-track recordings to reveal even deeper levels of detail and clarity; and the Raw Studio Mixes allow listeners to experience the moment John and the Plastic Ono Band (Ringo Starr on drums, Klaus Voorman on bass, Yoko on “wind” and producer Phil Spector) recorded each song, mixed live.