Primary Wave Music Publishing has signed Kenny Loggins, purchased the catalog of Count Basie, and entered into a long-term strategic partnership with British record producer/songwriter Pete Waterman.

Primary Wave will represent Loggins’ music publishing catalog, which includes "I'm Alright," "Playing with the Boys" and "What a Fool Believes," and will work with Loggins to market his music, name and likeness. The company's digital division will be handling all digital marketing activities to build awareness of Loggins' music and overall business, including touring, e-commerce and other direct-to-fan initiatives.

As far as Basie goes, the company has acquired all music assets, which includes copyrights and royalty streams of compositions written by Basie such as "One O'clock Jump" and "Jumpin' At The Woodside," as well as royalty streams for all masters he recorded including "April in Paris" and "Georgia on My Mind."

Primary Wave Music intends to collaborate with the Institute of Jazz Studies at Rutgers, which recently acquired the rights to Count Basie's name, likeness, trademarks and Basie's artifacts/memorabilia.

The Waterman deal encompasses much of his catalog and includes three of his biggest hits—"Never Gonna Give You Up" and "Together Forever" for Rick Astley, and "I Should Be So Lucky" for Kylie Minogue.

We envision being rick-rolled with a big band version of "Footloose."