Here we introduce you to a collection of Recording Academy trustees, each elected by their chapter boards. They are a portion of the body that elects the actual winners come award season. Each chapter's number of trustees vary depending on the chapter's size, but they all have at least two.

Mindi Abair (LA)

Two-time Grammy nominee who’s garnered numerous #1 jazz radio hits and Top 5 solo records. Won a 2018 Independent Music Award for Best Blues Song, among other honors. Author of How to Play Madison Square Garden: A Guide to Stage Performance. More recent credits include The EastWest Sessions (2017) and Smokey Robinson’s “Christmas Everyday” (2017).

George J. Flanigen IV (NASH)

A former Chair of the Board and Chair Emeritus, Flanigen is co-founder of Deaton Flanigen Productions. He has five Grammy nods and two CMA wins. He is also an Emmy, Cleo and International Film and Television award winner. His most recent Grammy nom was in 2016 for Best Music Film. (left)

Jeff Balding (NASH)

An audio engineer/producer who has worked with Taylor Swift, Faith Hill, Leanne Rimes, Little Big Town, Celine Dion and more. Recent credits include Brett Eldredge’s Brett Eldredge (2017) and Dustin Lynch’s Current Mood (2017). He’s earned eight Grammy nominations, most recently in 2009. Previously Chapter President.

Matthew Hennessy (CHI)

Owner and head producer/engineer at Chicago-based VSOP Studios (2009). A three-year trustee, he previously served as Governor and Chapter President. Recent credits include Third-story’s Cold Heart (2018), G Herbo’s Humble Beast (2017) and Eryn Allen Kane’s Aviary: Act II (2016). (right)

Mike Clink (LA)

Best known for his work with Guns N’ Roses, Clink began producing in 1987. He’s served as chapter Governor and was Co-chair of the Producer & Engineer’s Wing. Main focus at the Academy has been advocacy, protecting the rights and interests of people who create music; he recently testified before Congress. Most recent credit: engineer on Eddie Money’s The Complete Hits and More! (2016).

Booker T. Jones (LA)

A Rock and Roll Hall of Famer as leader of Booker T. and the MGs, Jones is a multi-Grammy winner and recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award. He works with the Advocacy Committee, testifying before the House Judiciary Committee on its behalf. Recent credits include Eric Clapton’s Crossroads Revisited (2016) and Mindi Abair’s Live in Seattle (2015). (left)

Tracy Hamlin (DC)

Previously the vocalist in Pieces of a Dream; has performed with Gloria Gaynor, Carlos Santana, Chaka Khan and more. She executive produced five solo albums through her label DMH Records, LLC. Formerly Vice President of the Chapter. Recent credits include Namy’s “Love Yourself” (2018). Owner/producer of Sweet Jazz & Wine Festival.

Ann Mincieli (NY)

Owner/partner/founder of Jungle City Studios, Mincieli has engineered for Jay-Z, Drake, Whitney Houston and more. A Grammy-winning engineer/producer, she serves on the Advocacy Committee and the Tech & Innovation Committee; is also Co-chair of the Pro-ducers & Engineers Wing. Most recent credits include Alicia KeysHere (2016) and the soundtrack to Queen of Katwe (2016). (right)

Rigo “Riggs” Morales (NY)

With 20+ years experience in hip-hop and urban genres, Morales was initially a journalist working for The Source, XXL and The Fader. Switched to a producer/manager role at Goliath Artists and A&R at Shady Records in 2001, later becoming VP A&R. Currently VP A&R & Artist Development at Atlantic Records. Received a 2011 Grammy acknowledgement.

Tim Palmer (TX)

Currently runs ’62 Studios. Has served as Governor for the Chapter for three terms and Co-chair of the Producer & Engineers Wing twice before becoming a trustee. Has worked with David Bowie, Pearl Jam, Switchfoot, Goo Goo Dolls and more. 2001 Grammy nomination for Album of the year; recent credit is Tears for FearsRule The World: the Greatest Hits (2017). (left)

Nick Phillips (SF)

A record producer, music curator, and A&R executive with 30+ years of experience. Founded music consulting firm Zen & Tonic. Now in his second term as a Trustee. Was previously a Grammy Foundation Board member. Several Phillips-produced projects have garnered Grammy nominations. His own releases include Haiku (2016) and Moment to Moment (2014).

Justin Roberts (CHI)

A singer/songwriter with a focus on children’s music who’s won nine Parents Choice Awards and nine National Parenting Publications Gold Awards. He is a three-time Best Musical Album for Children Grammy nominee, most recently for Lemonade (2017). Recent credits include 2014’s Hansel & Gretel cast recording, 2013’s Recess and a Greatest Hits record in 2016. (right)

Shannon Sanders (NASH)

Currently PD at Nashville’s 102.1 (WPRT). Grammy, Emmy and Dove Award-winning writer/producer; Grammy wins include 2002 Best R&B Album (Voyage to India) and 2006 Best Rock or Rap Gospel Album (Turn Around). His most recent credits include Morgan Heritage’s Avrakedabra (2017) and Robert Randolph’s Got Soul (2017).

Ken Shepherd (MEM)

Manages his son, Kenny Wayne Shepherd, and co-manages The RIDES featuring KWS, Stephen Stills and Barry Goldberg. Served two terms on the Louisiana Music Commission, two terms on chapter Board of Governors, and is in his second term as a trustee. Also a managing partner of Only Hit Music, Just a Hit Music and Theomadellie Music. Most recent credit is Kenny Wayne Shepherd’s Lay It Down (2017). (left)

Eric Schilling (FL)

An engineer, live mixer and record producer, Schilling founded Norfolk Music Production. A four-time Grammy winner, most recently in 2011 for Best Traditional Tropical Latin Album, and a 15x Latin Grammy winner, he’s mixed the Grammy telecast. Recent credits include The Complete RCA Albums 1977-1980 by Fandango (2017) and Santana’s Corazón (2014).

Tyler Stone (PNW)

A voting member since 1997, Stone has served as a Governor for both the Pacific Northwest and San Francisco chapters. Currently does lead vocals and programming for Sutro. She’s also an active remixer/producer whose most recent credits include Sutro’s “Shelter” (2017), “Sweeten the Deal” (2016) and Broken Distance (2016). (right)

Matt Still (ATL)

Currently an adjunct professor at Kennesaw State University teaching music technology, he’s been a Chapter Governor and Chapter Vice President. Won the 2003 Album of the Year Grammy for engineering OutKast’s Speakerboxxx/The Love Below. Most recent credit is Coy BowlesTiger Pride (2017).

Richard Stumpf (NY)

Founder/CEO of Atlas Music Publishing, Stumpf represents Grammy-winning producer Toby Gad and others. Former President of Imagem Music and SVP of Creative & Marketing for Cherry Lane Music Publishing. Works with the Advocacy Committee lobbying for creator rights; was previously its Chapter Chair. Also on the Awards and Nominations Committee. Worked on the boards of NMPA, AAIM and AIMP. (left)

Ed Cherney (LA)

Three-time Grammy, five-time TEC and Emmy award-winning producer/engineer/mixer. Founder of the Producers & Engineers Wing and currently its Co-chair. Served as Chapter Governor and on multiple committees for mentoring and advocacy. Recorded/mixed Willie Nelson’s Grammy-winning Summertime (2017). Supervised broadcast audio for the 2018 Grammy Awards show and will return for 2019.

Redrawing the Mason-Dixon Line (5/23a)
Ladies' choice (5/23a)
Rollin' with Jay (5/23a)
Let's agree to disagree. (5/23a)
The latest action from the live sector (5/22a)
Gosh, we hope there are more press releases.
Unless the Senate manages to make this whole thing go away, that is.
No, not that one.
Now 100% unlicensed!

 First Name

 Last Name


Captcha: (type the characters above)