City of Hope Honoree Ain't Too Proud to Beg; Raises $5 Million-Plus

Motown hitmakers Smokey Robinson and the Temptations were joined Thursday by such contemporary artists as Sheryl Crow and Mary J. Blige, among others, in honoring Vivendi Universal Executive Vice Chairman Edgar Bronfman Jr. with the City of Hope's Spirit of Life award.

The outdoor event, which featured artists performing classic Motown hits and was hosted by Gary Shandling, raised more than $5.1 million for the medical research and treatment center.

Melissa Etheridge, Johnny Lang, Terry Dexter, Ritchie Sambora, Roger Daltrey, Brian McKnight, Gwen Stefani, Shelby Lynne, Sisqo, Bilal and India.Arie were among the other performers. Present but not performing were Jay-Z, Montel Jordan and the three Ivana-stalked Hanson boys (whose combined ages would make them just about old enough for her to date).

Joining Universal Music Group Chairman/CEO Doug Morris in honoring Bronfman were Motown founder Berry Gordy and UMG's Zach Horowitz and Zomba's Neil Portnow. Among those in attendance at the black-tie gala were execs from the five major labels and the film world. Also on hand from the UMG family were Ron Fair (who put together the musical presentation), Kedar Massenburg, Monte Lipman, Jim Caparro, Lyor Cohen, Jay Boberg, Mark Williams, Damon Dash, Craig Lambert, Jonas Nachsin, David Renzer and Steve Berman.

Among Sony attendees were Glen Brunman and Kaz. EMI was represented by, among others, Roy Lott, Steve Backer, Jay Samit, Ray Cooper and Gene Rumsey. Warnerites included Phil Quartararo,Tom Biery, Dave Mount and Rhino's departing Harold Bronson. The Hollywood contingent included Colin Hodgson, Abbey Konowitch, Geoffrey Weiss, Justin Fontaine and Daniel Savage. Robert Smith represented Exstasy.

Bertie boss Thomas Middelhoff made an appearance, as did managers Andy Gould, Jim Guerinot, Kenneth Crear and Simon Renshaw; attorneys Don Passman, Gary Gilbert and Peter Paterno; agents Rob Light, Carol Kinzel, Rick Roskin and Jenna Adler; the RIAA's Hilary Rosen; VH1's John Sykes; Trans World's Bob Higgins; Handelman's Sam Milicia; producers Rick Rubin and Glen Ballard; and, of course, Billboard's Geoff Mayfield.

On the red carpet was E!'s Dave Adelson.